Texas Department of Public Safety Driver Responsibility Program
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has been authorized under the Texas Driver Responsibility Program to assess additional charges based on specific traffic violations. These surcharges are added to standard fees and cannot take the place of license suspension or revocation. But don’t let the word “Driver” fool you. This applies to motorcycle riders as well.
There are two methods of assessing surcharges for specific offenses:
- Point system
Drivers with both points and a history of convictions on their driving records are assessed separate surcharges for points for each offense and for each conviction.
An individual’s driver’s license will be suspended if surcharges are not paid within 30 days. Suspension remains in effect until charges are paid in full or until an installment agreement is put into place and agreed upon.
Method of Payment of Surcharges
Individuals receive notification of surcharges in the mail which includes the amount of collection fees and the surcharges themselves and information regarding how to make payment. Payment may be made in one of the following ways:
- A money order, cashier’s check, or personal check can be mailed to Surcharge Processing, P.O. Box 16733, Austin, Texas 78761-6733.
- Online payment can be made to the Municipal Services Bureau.
- Payment can be done by phone—(800) 688-6882.
Money Goes to Trauma Center
Ninety-nine percent of the funds collected under the Driver Responsibility Program are transferred from the office of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts to the Trauma Center and the Texas General Revenue Fund. The remaining one percent goes to DPS to administer the program.
Violation of Traffic Laws Leads to Accidents
If you or a loved one has suffered injuries or if a loved one has died in a crash caused by another driver’s violation of traffic laws, contact a motorcycle accident lawyer Ray King at the King Law Firm. For over 20 years now, we have helped those injured due to another’s negligence obtain the compensation they deserve. Call us at (512) 514-6633 for a no cost consultation.